I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012(SECOND) Regular Session Pil 3: 54 Jr. Gr

Resolution No. <u>315</u>-31 Cor)

Introduced by:

TO CONGRATULATING RELATIVE THE **ENGINEERS, ARCHITECTS AND SURVEYORS** GOLF CLUB (EASGC) 2012 ON THEIR **INDUCTION** OF NEW **OFFICERS** AND **COMMENDING THEM FOR OVER TWENTY** (20) YEARS OF CHARITABLE INVOLVEMNT **IN THE LOCAL COMMUNITY**

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI UNU LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Golf Club 1 (EASGC) was founded in 1991 with its Constitution & By-Laws duly 2 adopted by the Board of Directors on January 27, 1991, then duly ratified by 3 the members on Feb 03, 1991 and approved by the Department of Revenue 4 5 & Taxation in March 1991; and

WHEREAS, the mission of EASGC is to encourage and promote the 6 game of golf, to encourage member participation in civic and community 7 functions and to support social functions for the members and fellow golfers; 8 9 and

WHEREAS, the organization currently has sixty-three (63) members 10 actively involved in carrying out the mission of EASGC; and 11

a production is to be to set to an transmission in a state of the set of the set of the set of the set of the s

WHEREAS, the membership of the EASGC consists mainly of engineers, architects, surveyors, business owners and executives and both active and retired military service men; and

WHEREAS, the group meets every Sunday for a round of golf in any scheduled golf courses around the island in order to foster a spirit of camaraderie among its members; and

WHEREAS, EASGC holds a general membership meeting every first
Monday of the month at a designated hotel on island and for the last two
years has been holding its monthly meeting at the Guam Reef Hotel; and

WHEREAS, the Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Club has been hosting the JFT Island Wide Golf Tournament since 1994 to raise funds for different charitable organizations, such as Make A Wish Foundation, Alee Shelter, UOG Endowment Foundation, Kamalen Karidat, and Guam Shriners; and

WHEREAS, the club made contributions to disaster victims and helped establish an orphanage in the Philippines; and

WHEREAS, EASGC also provided monetary support to fund
scholarships for deserving students at the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the past presidents of the Engineers, Architects and 30 Surveyors Club: Mr. Ed Hipona, Mr. Nars Guertes, Mr. Vic Ovalles, Mr. 31 Efren Tanag, Mr. Rene Alcazaren, Mr. Roger Ruelos, Mr. Art Chan, Mr. 32 Armand Cayand, Mr. Bob Field, Mr. Ted Abella, Mr. Angel Mendoza, Mr. 33 PJ Jose, Mr. Vic Dew Roca, Mr. Rick Unpingco, Mr. Dubel Conlu, Mr. 34 Nemy Macario, Mr. Ding Vales, Mr. Warly Gaid, Mr. Rene H. Ramos, Mr. 35 James Badong and Mr. Enrico Gloton have played a vital role in leading the 36 club over the past twenty (20) years; and 37

38 WHEREAS, the newly elected officers: President-elect Bernie 39 Maranan, Vice President-elect Ben Reyes, Treasurer-elect Pascual Jasa,

the second s

2

Secretary-elect Joe Vitug and Auditor-elect Ted Abella will be sworn in on
February 11, 2012 and are expected to continue leading EASGC to carry out
its mission; and now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, does
hereby, on behalf of the People of Guam, commend and congratulate the
Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Club for all their years of service to the
community and their continued support of the game of golf on the island ;
and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the
Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the
Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be
thereafter transmitted to Mr. Bernie Maranan, President-elect of the
Engineers, Architects and Surveyors Club; and to the Honorable Edward J.
B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE _____ DAY OF APRIL, 2011

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker **RORY RESPICIO** Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary